Review:SHISHU THAILAM Massage Oil

I have been massaging Adi since he was three days old, I had my aunt come down to help me and she had amazing hands, she would massage with such confidence at those little hands and legs that me and hubby would watch her with eyes open wide. After one month when she went back I had to massage but by this time Adi’s hands and legs were little plump and I had the confidence to massage..Body massage sure helps babies to strengthen their muscles and joints and this will help them to crawl faster and walk faster too as old people in house will tell you. What is important is that you use the best oils to massage and recently I came across Shishu baby massage oil from  Omved 

IMG_20160629_153846

So I am reviewing the oil today on the blog, lets begin:

What is Omved?

OMVED, the name derived from the Sanskrit words; OM (absolute) + VED (knowledge); means to live (and let live) in complete consciousness – a name reflecting the philosophy of a company that is grounded and guided by an all-embracing awareness – creating products that are good for you, the people who make them and for the earth. (Taken from their website)

The founder of Omved is Priti Mehta, who found her interest in natural goodness for health and skin after the birth of her twin boys. she believes in helping people to get healthier, to love themselves in a meaningful way and feel more alive.

I received this 110 ml bottle of Omved massage oil which has a retail price of Rs990/-, dont get alarmed listening to the price itself, let me tell you the goodness of the oil.

Here goes the ingredients:

1.)Ashwagandha:

Ashwagandha, the magical herb, is considered to be a nature’s gift to mankind. For centuries, it has been used  to treat people for their day to day woes such as stress, anxiety, exhaustion, lack of sleep.

2.) Manjistha:

Manjistha is a potent antioxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-microbial. It has been used as a muscle relaxant; to ease stress and also heals skin related problems.

3.) vetiver:

Vetiver is nothing but khui -khus. This grass has a very pleasant, mild, earthy, and musky smell which has a cooling effect on the body and the mind

4.) Coconut oil

The base oil used is the coconut oil and we all are well aware of the benefits of coconut oil.

The ingredients used in the oil made me take a step further and I read about the properties of the ingredients used and I was surprised to know such benefits the oil has, this has led me to believe in the herbs and organic benefits that we can get naturally and what is common among them that they all have Indian origin which is so great.

This oil has amazing benefits and these are some of the benefits listed on their website:

  • Regular massage with this oil helps your baby to:
  • Ease gas, colic, and constipation and improves sleep
  • Increase circulation and encourage weight gain
  • Boost brain growth and strengthen the bones and muscles
  • Alleviate symptoms of eczema, and other milder skin ailments such as nappy rash.
  • This oil is ideal for massaging babies and children.

My take on the oil :

I love that the oil it  is not sticky at all, it gets absorbed on the skin very well. The oil is light pink in color and the smell is that of the khus-khus very mild and musky. I have been using it and I am in absolute love with the oil and my only regret is that I didn’t know this product earlier but better late then lover this oil can be used from birth till 4 years.

IMG_20160705_130955.jpg

Leave a Reply

